blog . by . paul

my hobby game and software projects

And so it began …

leave a comment »

What a day! This is my very first post on a blog ever! This blog is mainly going to be about game, application and tools programming. About new .net technologies like Silverlight, Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) and XNA. About best practices and design patterns. And to not forget also about my own games. All in all something for programming geeks!

Of course I’ve to explore how everything works now~ Let’s start with something simple like how to embed a Google Video I’ve recently uploaded.

It was orginally a test of proof of my implementation of a Component based Entity-system and the integration of the great Farseer Physics Engine. I actually wanted to extend FlyWeight to be a real game,
but it’s pretty hard to create a ‘fun’ game that is based on physics. Maybe I’ll get back to it in the future.

Another, pretty new, 2D Physics engine for .net is Box2DX. It’s a c# port of the new version of the famous Box2D C++ physics engine from Erin Catto. From what I’ve seen, integration of Box2DX shouldn’t be very hard either. Awesome work.

Let me say some words about GoogleVideo.com, I must say I prefer it over YouTube. It simply feels much better. I’ve also had some problems with uploading exactly that video to YouTube while it worked like a charm on GoogleVideo. *shrugs*

You can find the other videos I’ve made of FlyWeight here, and here.

More blogging soon! This is fun (: WordPress rocks!!

Edit:
Since Google Video is now dead all videos have been reuploaded to YouTube.
Btw: YouTube now has all the features that were missing back then when I complained about it. ;)

Written by paul

April 20, 2008 at 01:21

Leave a Reply

